top of page

blog post #2

Right off the bat, the phrase “Very few writers really know what they are doing until they've done it “caught my eye. I am not opposed to writing; I just feel that I am not a natural at it (like I have found a lot of my friends and peers to be). Going back to that quote, I think that the best work comes to me in the most random of times. My junior year, in my AP Lang class, we were assigned a 1750 word essay on one of the most mature pieces of writing I had ever seen, The Solzhenitsyn Reader by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. To be honest, to this today I am still not sure what 80 percent of that book even meant; The book was set in cold war era Russian society, and I was angry and confused why my teacher decided to add it to his curriculum randomly. One day, as the due date was creeping up on me, and while pulling a classic Taylor move (only had typed out my name and class period) everything suddenly came to me while I was eating dinner with the 5 oclock news on in the background. I learned from this experience that all writing is not going to come easy. You have to reach out of your comfort zone and make connections that make your topic personally exciting. I have found writing to be a lot of fun when I am passionate about the topic, connections are everywhere you just have to be patient and willing to leave your comfort zone.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page